top of page

The Winston Award

The Arlington County Bar Foundation has presented its William L. Winston Award annually to a distinguished member of the Northern Virginia legal community with a record of public service, distinguished by his or her efforts to advance the principles of enlightenment, knowledge and education in the area of the American system of jurisprudence, as well as to promote democratic ideals and advance the rule of law. The Winston Award is the highest honor presented by the Arlington County Bar Foundation.

The award was established in 1990 to honor and recognize members of the Northern Virginia community for long-standing public service, promotion of democratic ideals and advancement of the rule of law. It was named in honor of William Winston, who served both in the General Assembly and as a judge of the Circuit Court. Winston was the first recipient of the award.

Additional recipients have included judges Thomas Monroe, Paul Sheridan and Joanne Alper; legislators Mary Marshall, Ed Holland and Karen Darner; community activists Lillian Brown and John Robinson; and legal-profession leaders Manny Capsalis and Griffin Garnett.


Foundation Awards: Video
Foundation Awards: Pro Gallery

Winston & Campbell Awardees

The Highest Honor from the Foundation

Foundation Awards: Image
bottom of page